Go Back   Farm Town > Help & Support > Help & Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Oct 12 2011, 11:25 PM
Taz D's Avatar
Taz D Taz D is offline
Senior Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2010
Location: Ace, Tx
Posts: 20,610
Arrow Fishing and Bait



This thread is for help with problems with Fishing.
Please read the following information BEFORE posting in this thread. Thank you.

Before posting a general question please check the Game Guide :
Chapter 19 - Fishing
Fishing Boats




Common problems....

Stubborn fish when using the single fishing pole.
The less fish in the water, the harder it gets. Click on the yellow rectangle in the farm selector to reload the farm you are on. It will reload the farm and spread the fish back out again making them easier to catch.
If you are hired to fish you will not lose the hire by doing this.
You will not be able to catch very single fish in overlapped waters or catch fish in waters placed of the edges of a farm with the fishing rod.

Overlapped waters and waters placed off the edges of a farm:
How a farmer designs their farms and the waters on them is entirely up to them.
To able to catch every single fish in overlapped waters or waters off the edges of a farm you will need to own the Turbo boat. Without a turbo boat you will find that you won't be able to catch every single fish in overlapped waters on the farm and you won't be able to fish the waters that are placed off the edges of a farm as those can ONLY be fished with a Turbo boat.
Hired workers can use the farm owners turbo boat as long as the boat they have allowed the use of their Tools in the hire. You will also need Fuel.

Storing bait.
When you store bait from your gift box, use "Store Ingredients" to store them to waters.

Gifted bait, bait from your fish farming plant and any bonuses you get from posting your own bait bonus gets stored with waters.
The exception to this rule is any bait you send to a friend when you click on their bonus post, your share goes to storage, which you can use to stock the Fishing Tackle shop if you own one or just sell at market.


Losing bait.
If you own the Fishing Tackle shop, you could be loading a lot of it into there for sale. Either do not load the bait into there, or if you have the load tool for that facility, go to the facility, open it and remove the checks from the boxes for freshwater and seawater bait.



All of topic posts will be deleted without warning. This thread is for help and support only. All feedback/suggestions need to be made in the feedback and suggestions area

Last edited by Tiger; Aug 28 2023 at 04:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jan 23 2021, 06:20 PM
Cortsgram Cortsgram is offline
Account Not Linked
 
Join Date: Jan 23 2021
Posts: 1
Default Fishing Bait

I am trying to find out about bait for fishing. We are not able to accept gifts right now to exchange for bait and cannot work facility for bait. When I fish, I am using my bait and it is almost gone. Is it possible to fix it where bait is not used until gifts and facilities are working again?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 23 2021, 06:25 PM
Taz D's Avatar
Taz D Taz D is offline
Senior Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2010
Location: Ace, Tx
Posts: 20,610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortsgram View Post
I am trying to find out about bait for fishing. We are not able to accept gifts right now to exchange for bait and cannot work facility for bait. When I fish, I am using my bait and it is almost gone. Is it possible to fix it where bait is not used until gifts and facilities are working again?
Hi Cortsgram,
I moved your post to the subject thread about Fishing and Bait.
There isn't any way to get more bait currently. Unfortunately we are all in the same boat, so to speak. If they turned off the bait then you will only get 1 fish instead of the 2 fish you get with bait right now at least until you run out. It would not work for turning it off.
__________________
Taz
Dubh Glais Estates
Please come visit me on my farms (underlined link above) and if you see me say hi! I do ask that you not send me in-game messages for any problems other than forum login issues, as I can only help with those from my farm.
Post your problem or question here in the forums and we will gladly help you to solve it as quickly as we can.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 26 2021, 01:52 AM
Chet Evors Chet Evors is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 20 2010
Posts: 49
Default

To whom ever get's this let me know what is going on please. Instead of getting better it is preventing from doing what I was able do.1336382078 Suddenly when harvesting, my buildings and facilities are showing up.
Fishing, have the purple boat but plenty of bait and those buildings and facilities are show while doing both harvesting and fishing.
I can still harvest but can't fish at all.
have 1000000 of bait and show fish in the water but won't let catch me!~!
Was fine tell yesterday afternoon, fishing is not at all.
Sorry to complain but everything was working pretty good tell a day or two ago!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 26 2021, 07:11 AM
marymarcel's Avatar
marymarcel marymarcel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 30 2009
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 15,094
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chet Evors View Post
To whom ever get's this let me know what is going on please. Instead of getting better it is preventing from doing what I was able do.1336382078 Suddenly when harvesting, my buildings and facilities are showing up.
Fishing, have the purple boat but plenty of bait and those buildings and facilities are show while doing both harvesting and fishing.
I can still harvest but can't fish at all.
have 1000000 of bait and show fish in the water but won't let catch me!~!
Was fine tell yesterday afternoon, fishing is not at all.
Sorry to complain but everything was working pretty good tell a day or two ago!
Hi Chet Evors

When you click in your purple boat you will see an eye in the botton right sice of your farms.
It it is fully open, then click in it to get it show as half open. That will hide all other items on the farm not matching with the tool you have in your hands.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 28 2021, 04:54 PM
Lessonlady Lessonlady is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 23 2009
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to Lessonlady Send a message via Yahoo to Lessonlady
Default

I had a couple billion Freshwater bait in storage that i had been amassing. When everything started to work this week, it was there, then it was gone!! It has been gone for over 36 hours so I am worried it won't be back! I have started buying more but since I use over a million a day, I can barely keep up with it! Will I get my old storage back?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Jan 28 2021, 05:08 PM
Taz D's Avatar
Taz D Taz D is offline
Senior Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2010
Location: Ace, Tx
Posts: 20,610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lessonlady View Post
I had a couple billion Freshwater bait in storage that i had been amassing. When everything started to work this week, it was there, then it was gone!! It has been gone for over 36 hours so I am worried it won't be back! I have started buying more but since I use over a million a day, I can barely keep up with it! Will I get my old storage back?
Hi Lessonlady,
It would not be possible to have that much bait that we know. The maximum for any item is 200 million. However if it is gone then no there isn't any way to get it back.
Please try clearing your memcache (link below), then when the page of unsetting text opens close that as it is done.
If your farm is open close it. Then reopen and try again.
https://apps.facebook.com/farmtown/p...lear_memcached


That will not bring anything back that is lost, but may keep them from disappearing again.


I just checked and your storage is at 98%. I would not be surprised if you were missing more items. You need to go through the storage to the market to sell off some excess you have like your non-ingredients and part of any thing you have very high amounts of.
__________________
Taz
Dubh Glais Estates
Please come visit me on my farms (underlined link above) and if you see me say hi! I do ask that you not send me in-game messages for any problems other than forum login issues, as I can only help with those from my farm.
Post your problem or question here in the forums and we will gladly help you to solve it as quickly as we can.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Feb 05 2021, 11:12 PM
Precious In His Sight Precious In His Sight is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 17 2020
Posts: 20
Default Fishing

This just started happening today. When fishing, it no longer shows pictures of fish caught or number of fish left to catch.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Feb 05 2021, 11:18 PM
Taz D's Avatar
Taz D Taz D is offline
Senior Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2010
Location: Ace, Tx
Posts: 20,610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Precious In His Sight View Post
This just started happening today. When fishing, it no longer shows pictures of fish caught or number of fish left to catch.
Hi Precious in His Sight,
The developers removed the Coin and XP animations and the Show Feedback when Farming because they were causing major problems for those who were harvesting heavily layered waters and farms.


It should still show how many fish left to be caught if you move the mouse/boat over the water.
__________________
Taz
Dubh Glais Estates
Please come visit me on my farms (underlined link above) and if you see me say hi! I do ask that you not send me in-game messages for any problems other than forum login issues, as I can only help with those from my farm.
Post your problem or question here in the forums and we will gladly help you to solve it as quickly as we can.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Feb 06 2021, 05:13 AM
tharcicia tharcicia is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 11 2009
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taz D View Post
Hi Precious in His Sight,
The developers removed the Coin and XP animations and the Show Feedback when Farming because they were causing major problems for those who were harvesting heavily layered waters and farms.


It should still show how many fish left to be caught if you move the mouse/boat over the water.

I am sorry Taz this sounds pretty ridiculous to me. We have to suffer for those who do layering. I can remember that years back layering was not allowed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bait, can't fish, fish, fishing, fishing boat, fishing rod, freshwater bait, lake, pond, sea coast, seawater bait, stored bait, turbo boat, waters

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.